Skip to content

The Power of Praise and Music

November 26, 2006

As I sit here, avoiding my novel, like a model avoids a Snickers, my room mate and I have decided to get into the ‘spirit’ by putting on Christmas music.

It’s that time of year, when Christmas music is everywhere… the grocery store, every shopping mall, etc. And both of us have just come back from vacations, so we are feeling good. We just bought some decorations, and went grocery shopping together. We are relaxed tonight, and haven’t yet returned to the horror of our careers, ergo Christmas spirit-y emotions abounds in the apartment that NAFTA made possible.

When we go home, my roommate asked if I had any Christmas music. Now I happen to be a HUGE Christmas music fan. I am a picky Christmas music fan, though, in my defense. I made my own CD and I listen to it religiously, (no pun intended) during this time of year. But I also have about five other CD’s that I love. So we sit here listening to them, and I’m looking for my absolute all time favorite Christmas song, which I have bought no less than three times and keep losing: O Come O Come Emmanuel- by Phillips Craig Dean. This specific version. The problem with it is there is no CD currently being manufactured with this song on it. Feel free to correct me, by the way. I’d be overjoyed to know I’m wrong. But I’m digressing…

The point is this: I’ve come to terms, (and it took a long, long time to feel that way), about my religious feelings. I’m agnostic, and after much debate and soul-searching, I am at peace with this fact. In fact, there are only a few things that I miss about believing in God. One of these things is the music. I miss praise and worship music.

A few years ago, I downloaded a bunch of it, and periodically, I listen to it. I’m not going to lie, I sometimes rock out to Jesus Freak, Flood, and Shine. But these are not the songs I miss, because I can listen to them on my CD player alone. It’s the communal worship and praise that I miss. Even Caedmon’s Call and some Third Day just aren’t the same without the other believers in the room. I don’t believe anymore, and I think I am the lesser for it, because I can’t truly enjoy these moments of worship like I used to. Even if I am there, I don’t mean it as I once did, and yet I vividly recall what it felt to mean it.

I listen to it, and I enjoy it, but its not the same.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2006 6:11 pm

    Have you heard Over the Rhine’s piano version of O Come Emmanuel? It’s on their Christmas CD “The Darkest Night of the Year.” This song (and not just this version) is one of my favorite Christmas songs and has been for a long time.

  2. November 27, 2006 7:33 pm

    Ooh, thanks, Brooke! I’m going to check it out.

  3. November 28, 2006 2:16 pm

    I wanted to acknowledge that I read this post, but I don’t really have much to say except I miss that for you, too, and it makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

