Skip to content

A Midwinter’s Night-Mare

February 9, 2007

Author’s Note: This blog is to be read while listening to the Hollywood Undead song “I Must be Emo”. “Dear Diary, Mood: Apathetic. My life is spiraling downward… … …”

I’ve been feeling restless. Well, to elaborate, I’ve been feeling irritable, anxious, stressed, and all over “bleh” (to put it scientifically). To be fair, I haven’t been taking my herb’s regularly like I was, but I think it’s less the SAD and more the normal winter blues.

It’s February. Bleh. It’s still dark by five, and now it’s gotten truly cold, but there hasn’t even been any snow to make up for the cold. I really want to see some snow. (Insert mental image of me crossing my arms and stomping my feet.) Selmita, my roommate, came home the other night, and I heard her talking to a friend on the phone about how boring life is right now, (yes, I was eavesdropping). It sounds whiny, but I really agree with her.

I don’t want to go out to a bar or club. It’s always the same…sipping a cocktail, talking to friends, goading your friends into talking to the cute guy who’s making eyes at them. However, I’m sick of staying home. I don’t need a “spa” day, as I’ve been furiously moisturizing to hold the flaky skin at bay despite the Arctic Blast. I don’t need to relax in bed all day watching TV, (good God, if I have to do this one more weekend, I think I’ll go mad!). I don’t want to read a book, because I just finished one. I don’t want to watch movies; I’m bored with them. I feel like I’ve been watching too many movies (and I never feel like that!). I don’t feel like cooking, I don’t feel like cleaning. I’m in limbo. There isn’t a single idea that strikes, where I think “Oh, that would be interesting.”

I know I’m being a whiny, complaining brat. I know. Feel free to put me in my place. But’s its my blog, and I’ll whine if I want to. 🙂

End lyrics: “I don’t know diary, sometimes I think you’re the only one on that gets me, You’re my best friend, I feel like tacos.”

P.S. Two thoughts: 1. Can one do a P.S. in a blog post? 2. If you don’t know this song, you must, I repeat MUST listen to it ASAP. You will be laughing to tears.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2007 1:32 pm

    1. Yes, you can do a “PS” in a blog post – in fact, you can do anything you want. It is your blog. You are king, er, I mean queen.2. I have never read a blog entry that was supposed to be read while listening to a song. Excellent (this is what my point #1 is all about).Yesterday, I was feeling restless/blah/bummed/etc. I listened to Sufjan Stevens and everything was better. You didn’t say anything about not wanting to listen to music…

Leave a Reply

