Skip to content

731 Days…

March 2, 2007

…ago I moved to New York. I completely forgot that March 1st is my New York anniversary. I remembered this morning, when thinking about the weather, (it was raining, not snowing). This is my third March. My third everything in New York begins. I’m so excited.

It went so quickly. One roommate is leaving in June, and the other is mulling over the idea, but I can’t even begin to think about leaving. It’s too interesting here. I have no idea where I would go, if I left. I’m really curious to know how my life turns out, and right now I see it happening here. Not forever, but certainly the next few years.
I have to listen to “I Love New York” by Madonna at the gym today.
Some pictures below are from the past two years, and I feel really embody my New York, experience so far. (I’m leaving out the myriad club photos.)
This is from a barbecue we went to in Brooklyn back in the summer. They were having some interpretive dance thing on the roof, with an awesome view of Manhattan in the background:
Mexpat and I on the subway, probably discussing boys, careers, or apartments:
This is me at Lincoln center, calling David Blane (background in bubble) crazy:
The view from D’s old apartment, before she left us to go to Santa Barbara (and cue tears):
Picture of the Brooklyn Bridge that a friend took on his first visit to see us:
A picture Mexpat took of Central Park. Gosh, I love Central Park:
The bane of every New Yorker’s existance, as shot by a friend:
What $15 dollars looks like in Hell’s Kitchen. It looks bigger in the pic than it actually was:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2007 8:08 pm

    very, very cool. I still think you need to write (another) book with NY vignettes, accompanied, perhaps, by pictures…?

  2. March 8, 2007 4:08 pm

    I must say, this makes me a little jealous. However, Waco is a pretty happenin place…

  3. March 9, 2007 10:43 am

    *Snort* Yeah, right…

  4. March 10, 2007 11:28 am

    This is totally not related to anything at all, but I was looking at some of my archived blog posts from about a year ago, and comments you left now read “roger said”. SO weird. I was reading them thinking, “Who the hell is Roger?”, and then I found one that I KNEW was from you. Very weird.Do you have something you need to tell us, ‘Roger’?

Leave a Reply

