Skip to content

Let’s Watch A Girl Get Beaten To Death.. or Not.

May 21, 2007

I heart Joss Whedon.

While he may not have a blog, I do: Whedonesque.

He is speaking of course about the girl whose honor killing is making the rounds on the internet. CNN has the video on their website. I clicked it and watched for about five seconds, before it occurred to me that I really, REALLY don’t need to see it, and there was something so voyeuristic in a perverted way, like watching a snuff film. Well, not really like watching a snuff film at all, because it was actually watching a snuff film. I had the same thoughts as Joss, regarding why the person(s) filmed it, (for pleasure, not to start a media storm).

He then mentions the movie “Captivity” which started a huge storm over some very graphic advertisements in the form of billboards. I saw the billboards; they were quite bad. Before seeing them, I had thought it was probably just something blown out of proportion, but after seeing them… well, there was something horrific about them. It made me very uncomfortable.

At any rate, Joss is genius for Buffy, Angel, Serenity, and (my personal favorite) Firefly. But he’s also using his fame to bring attention to something that really bothers him, and I respect him for that. He walks the walk in addition to talking the talk.

If you would like to donate to a worthy cause that fights gender based discrimination visit Equality Now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2007 8:57 pm

    Okay, I *would* be the one to mention this, but Joss Whedon also participated in the screewriting for “Toy Story”.(I actually just saw this today in the opening credits.)

  2. June 7, 2007 3:15 pm

    “honor killing” what a disgusting idea.

  3. June 7, 2007 4:21 pm

    Amy: And don’t you just love Toy Story? See: writing genius. Actually, they hired him to add some jokes. Aaron: My thoughts exactly.

Leave a Reply

