Skip to content

Living With Strangers, (Possible) Part 1

June 8, 2007

It’s not the first time I’ve lived with strangers. In fact, I’ve had many, many room mates, and after a quick count 7 were friends or siblings, and 13 were strangers. (I’m including the 3 new room mates, in fairness.) Still, this means that no matter how you slice it, I’ve lived with strangers and then gotten to know them more than knowing someone and then living with them.

However, it has been almost three years since I moved in with strangers, or had them move in with me. The last stranger I lived with was my one truly bad room mate. He was a smelly, (no really, I’m not stereotyping males room mates, it was BAD!), socially challenged French geek. We only lived together for about a month, but he managed to make his room, and then my apartment, uninhabitable in about a month and a half. (Thanks, Natis, for cleaning up afer that asshat!) Oh, gosh, I’ll never forget that smell, and it appeared in like three days! But beyond that, the other experiences have been pleasant. I’ve gotten along with them, and made friends with them.
This is of course the first time I’ve moved into an apartment with guys in it. All of my past sranger room mates, except the smelly French geek have been female. There is a certain weird dynamic when you start mixing genders in a room mate situation, especially if they are strangers, which brings me to my point:
I’m having a hard time making small talk with one of my new room mates, Mamadou (sp?). He’s from Senegal, and in his early 40’s. He’s known as the resident buddha, meaning he’s a calm, quiet, and polite guy. But how do you start a conversation with that kind of guy? I’m feeling rude, by not chatting with him. It’s a process, and I’m sure it will all work itself out, but it’s really the first time I’ve been in this situation. With girls, it’s easy. I just ask if they have a boyfriend. If they do, then I listen to them gush about how fantastic love is. If they don’t then we bash men, other women in relationships, and love. Or I casually mention how much I love that blouse, which starts a whole convo on how there is this fantastic little boutique, down in (insert neighborhood name) and we should go check it out together, because they are having a sale next weekend. The list goes on and on with females, but I have no list for males!

I guess it’s time to expand my reportoire anyway. Wish me luck.

Prize* give away question:
Where does the image in this post come from? Bonus points if you can name the woman.

*And by prize I mean my respect.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2007 6:59 pm

    The picture is from…the internet? No, seriously, I have NO idea.But here are some ideas for male conversation:1. Girlfriend?2. Education (where, major)?3. Fave movie & why?4. Fave book/authorThat’s all I’ve got right now…

  2. June 11, 2007 8:19 am

    Hats off to you lady. I hate living with men. Why are they all so dirty… and stupid? That would be Amy Sedaris… visiting Chucky Cheez?

  3. June 11, 2007 2:25 pm

    Strangers with Candy…are you going to be known as Candy now:P *Wink*I had no clue you had a beau…that is cute…Amy Sedaris and David Sedaris are two of my favorites you know!Congrats on getting your own place, opening up to the “buddha” is the same way, ask him how he can show you calm ways of meditation or talk about his aspects in life and the realizm that the world holds for him, we can always find SOMETHING that we have in common with someone.Harlem has changed quiet a bit, my greek buddy just moved from 151st and its not so bad!Can’t wait to see you at my bday picnic or soiree, have missed ya!Huggles!Oh your other post about the stoning…DISTURBING…speaking of disturbing I have a GREAT movie for you to seewell two…Pan’s LabryinthThe Dead GirlBoth make you think!

  4. June 13, 2007 12:20 am

    I have to agree, Pan’s Labyrinth was good. It wasn’t what I expected-I expected more time in the fantasy world, but there was a great balance b/t fantasy and real. Very well done. In fact, reflecting back on it, I had forgotten that it was subtitled. One of the things I don’t usually like about subtitles is that I miss out on the vision of the movie because I’m reading. That didn’t happen with this movie.

Leave a Reply

