Skip to content

The Big Announcement.

January 10, 2008

I’m nervous. There are a couple of reasons for this. The first and most important reason being because I have just booked a 2 1/2 month tour of Asia. That’s enough to make any sane girl who’s only ever dreamed of backpacking get a little nervous.

The second reason is because “booking” is a short way to say “bought a plane ticket with a couple of stops”. I still have a lot of planning to do.

The third reason is because I plan on doing this for $4000. I’m going to allow myself more in case, but I hope not to use it. I’ve been told by reliable sources that it is entirely do-able.

The fourth (and possibly second most important) reason is because I’m writing this post at work, and they can’t find out about my trip until I give notice four weeks before I leave.

I decided it was time to move on professionally a while ago, and thinking about that grew into this monster I am now holding (cuddling?). Obviously, there will be a lot of posts about this trip, and then a lot of posts during the trip. But this is my big ANNOUNCEMENT:

I am going to Asia.

(Yes, I realize that I have made that clear, but not in a big announcement kind of way, and frankly, it bears repeating- even if just to myself.)

Here is a great little map I put together, because I’m very visually orientated, and I needed to see geographically what I wanted to do, and if it was possible. Maps rule, btw.

Pink designates the first half of the trip- six weeks overland through India and Nepal. Purple designates the second half of the trip- five weeks overland through Southeast Asia. I’m flying from Kathmandu to Bangkok.

Highlights will include (but not be limited to):
Goa
Taj Mahal
Bathing in Ganges
Everest Base Camp
Learning to scuba and free dive
Angkor Wat
Ha Long Bay

Feel free to google those items and then get jealous. It’s ok. I’ve been you before. This year it’s my year to be me, if you know what I mean. 🙂

I leave mid-May. And if you know my co-workers, please keep it on the down-low. (This message will not self-destruct.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2008 10:01 am

    This is still just so exciting, and I’m only doing it vicariously! I’m really glad you’re just doing it.

  2. January 14, 2008 11:52 am

    Wow, that’s really awesome. Definitely jealous.

  3. January 20, 2008 12:48 pm

    Wow – very good stuff!

  4. January 21, 2008 6:41 pm

    This sounds like so much fun! I’m glad you’re getting to live your dreams.

Leave a Reply

