Skip to content

Carnivorous Catfish

April 15, 2009

Starling: Hey dad, what’s up?
Father: Hey, I’m fine. How are you doing? You ok?
Starling: Today’s a good day.
Father: Does that mean that maybe yesterday wasn’t?
Starling: Yeah, pretty much. But don’t worry, it’ll be like that for a while.
Father: Yeah, (awkward father pause) Well, I don’t think you should go to India.
Starling: Really? (duh) Why?
Father: Did you know that they have catfish that eat children?
Starling: What?
Father: Yeah, I saw it on TV. They caught this catfish that was like 160 pounds, and that was a small one apparently. They say these things have eaten kids and stuff. Can you imagine?!
Starling: Wow, I don’t know what to say.
Father: Yeah, so I don’t think you should go to India, because maybe a catfish would eat you. It’s ok if it eats him though. It was his choice to go anyway.
Starling: Um, yeah, dad. (pause) Because carnivorous catfish are my biggest concern when I think about moving to India.
Father: Well, I’m just saying. You never know, Starling.
Starling: That’s true, dad; you never know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 10:26 pm

    So. Freaking. Great.You never know. What with the ambulances in NY and the catfish in India, maybe it’d be better if you moved back to Texas. Nothing bad ever happens here.

Leave a comment