Skip to content

My DH

July 12, 2010

I remember the first time I saw the internet slang abbreviation “DH”. I have no idea what site I was at, although I’m fairly certain it was a mommy blogging site of some kind- (don’t ask me why I was at a random mommy blogging site as that is not the point of this post) and I’m also fairly certain there were some anti-Dooce remarks around this site. I only think this because the memory of first hearing about how hated Heather Armstrong is and reading “DH” for the first time are somehow linked in my brain- like the memories are sitting next to each other, neighboring synapses if you will.
I had no idea what DH meant. I noticed it was always accompanied by the word my. “My dh (fill in verb, object, and sundry words). I scrolled through comment after comment and finally figured out it was a person of some kind. It was a short leap from there to realizing these were women discussing their husbands.I sat there wondering what the D stood for. I mean the H wasn’t rocket science. But the only word which intuitively came before that was dear. As in “My dear husband…” I was horrified by how 1950’s housewife that sounded. I mean do women really say that on a daily basis. I’ve never heard a woman say in casual conversation “My dear husband…” and wasn’t that how internet slang developed? From actual phrases in real life?
I mean, sure, there’s the odd meme- *headdesk*, Do.Not.Want, and This! to name a few. Some are funny like Sad Keanu.

Naturally, I had to know what it really meant. I assumed it was something actually clever or ironic or humorous, and I was just not in on the joke, because I didn’t have a husband. Something like My Desired Helpmate, or My Desperate Househusband or My Devoted Hound, or My Dirty Hooligan. Are some of these names sugary sweet? Yes, but at least they have flair.

But nope. It was worse than I thought. It means “Darling Husband”. Icthk!!!

Suddenly all the Dooce hate made sense. What woman who daily calls her husband “darling” with a straight face would like another woman who calls her children Satan’s spawn on the world wide web. Hyperbole is lost on this type of person and they use the word darling as if their husband never leaves his socks balled up in the laundry bin- Oh sweet, bitter irony. Luckily for me, Baba is my Domesticated Hottie- balled up socks notwithstanding.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 1:08 pm

    This is one I haven't run across, but I agree with your sentiment. Is it meant tongue-in-cheek? Surely. Tell me it is so.Your versions are so much better.

  2. July 13, 2010 4:55 pm

    I've never run across it on a site that encouraged tongue-in-cheek behavior. This leads me to believe that no- they are not. But from now on, I'm going to say "Dirty Hooligan" in my head each time I read it. It rolls off the tongue so much better, I think. 🙂

  3. September 13, 2010 10:21 pm

    I always heard it meant dear whatever, not darling. I think it originated so people could talk about their family without using names. I guess it is a way to be somewhat private.

Leave a Reply

