Skip to content

Helping Hands

March 24, 2011

This photo has an interesting story.  I really, really wanted the shot, but obviously I couldn’t take it.  No one was available who knew how to shoot manual.  I ended up asking Kelly to take the shot with my camera, and I gave directions.  I showed her what aperture I wanted (wide open) and told her how to adjust the shutter speed to get the right exposure.  We fiddled a bit with a few angles, but this one was the best.  It’s nice because I probably would have played with the white balance, but it turned out so nice, I’m glad I decided that was too complicated to walk her through.

The only photoshopping I did was to run the Boost action (thanks, Ree), and crop it a little.  I love it.  The texture of the mehndi, which is still on, really pops, and the shiny sheen, which comes from a sugar mixture the artists constantly dabbed on, only adds to the shot.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 10:25 pm

    Great picture!

    How long did it take them to do this? And who exactly did it?

  2. March 24, 2011 10:34 pm

    I love it! You and Kelly did a great job.

  3. March 25, 2011 8:55 am

    It took three women four hours, with a short break for food. One worked on each arm and one worked on my feet. We only went to the ankle on the feet, but went up to the elbows on the arms. They worked so fast, too. It was interesting to watch.
    I’m going to do a post on the mahendi with lots more photos, but in between recounting posts I’m going to post some great shots I love, that have specific stories not related to the wedding. (In truth, I didn’t get as many great shots as I wanted.)
    I focused on the people this trip, since last time I didn’t take any people shots.

Leave a Reply

