Skip to content

The People of India: Shy Smile

June 17, 2011

This is the son of my sister-in-laws tailor. My sister-in-law, Aisha, is a designer. She has her own clothing line, and she designed all the dresses I wore for the wedding.

We had gone to her tailor’s place to drop off a design and a few orders. The tailor’s son was playing in the room next door. I tend to be a curiosity in India, because of my skin and my eyes and he was shyly watching me, once he realized I was there. I asked him if I could snap his picture. I got about three good ones, but this one is my favorite, because it captured his expression perfectly. He had a very cute sister, as well, but she wasn’t feeling like having her picture taken, so I didn’t get one of her. I hope I can on the next visit. I’m going to send a copy of the photo to Aisha, for her to give her tailor as a present. Like any kid, he was thrilled when I showed him the shots I took.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 4:34 pm

    Good shot! He’s cute.

Leave a Reply

