Skip to content

Slow Cooker – A Recipe and Stuff

June 28, 2011

Like I said before, the recipes won’t be a “thing”, but I do get asked for them, and it’s also easy to post here. People who are asking for them can’t say they lost the recipes, later. Heck, even I can’t say I lost the recipe.

Lately, I have been LOVING my slow cooker. Holy Crock Pot®, have I been loving it. How?! Why?! did it take me so long to start using this thing?!

The best part about it is obvious. I throw some stuff in a pot, and get back from work to a home-cooked meal, by a servant I only have to pay roughly 20 cents per kilowatt-hour. But the second best part is slightly less obvious. In my house, we cook a lot of what my family would call ethnic food. It’s great, but traditionally this stuff takes hours to cook sometimes. Now a good pressure cooker can help with some things, but not everything. The reason it’s supposed to take time is not because of the difficulty. In fact, I think Thai and Indian can be much simpler to cook these days, since I’m so used to it. The thing is these recipes often call for lots of spices. Lots of flavors, and lots of ingredients thrown in one pot. That means they need time to meld together. The spices have to blend, the ingredients have to break down, and only then is it really ready. (Sidenote: This is why leftover Indian, Thai, African and often Mexican, can taste better as leftovers.) The slow cooker does all that melding and blending, and it does it while I’m answering e-mails and taking phone calls.

OK, on to the purpose of this post. My sister wanted a few recipes for her slow cooker, so here is one.  I encourage you to simplify things even more than I have put here if you want. Leave in bigger chunks, cutting less if you want, because it will all break down anyway.

Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:

3-4 chicken breasts, whole
2-3 cloves of minced garlic
1 large onion, mostly processed in food processor (I prefer this method for this soup, but you can just chop it into chunky bits)
2 cans of Rotel
1 can of pureed tomatoes or 3 fresh tomatoes, mostly processed in food processor (again, can be chunky)
2 Bell Peppers, cut into large chunks
2 cups frozen corn kernels (optional)
1/2 cup fresh cilantro
3-4 cups of chicken stock (I usually use bouillon and water, ’cause it’s cheaper)
Fresh lime juice from 1 juicy lime
2 tablespoons of cumin
2 tablespoons of coriander
2-3 tablespoons of paprika
1 teaspoon of chili powder
Salt to taste (I usually add right before serving, just in case the bouillon was enough)

Directions:

Throw it all in the pot. (Seriously.) Cook on low for 6-7 hours.
Garnish with fresh cilantro and tortilla chips, right before serving. I think this last step is very important. Be generous with both.
Cilantro is one of those weird herbs that completely changes flavor’s as it cooks.
You can also add cheese, avocado, and sour cream to finish, if you wish.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    June 28, 2011 2:26 pm

    I have just recently started using my crock pot a little bit (we got it as a wedding present 6 years ago and I haven’t touched it until now!).

    Here is a simple recipe for Chicken Tacos that I LOVE and is super easy:

    Chicken Tacos in the Crockpot

    -Take 1 packet (McCormick’s) chicken taco seasoning (or 1 reg. taco seasoning packet), and cover the bottom of the crockpot.

    -Lay 6 frozen tenderloins or 3 frozen breasts on top of the seasoning.

    -Take one container of fresh pico or 1 can of Rotel (diced tomatoes and peppers) and cover the chicken.

    -Pour 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup water over the top of everything (or 1/3 cup water and 2 tbsps of olive oil for a lighter version). Do not stir.

    Simmer in crockpot for 4 to 6 hours on low. If you’re home, flip it halfway through, but not necessary. Remove chicken and shred with a fork. Stir back in, mixing everything up, and let cook/simmer for at least 30 more minutes.

    Throw it on tortillas or taco shells with a shredded mexican cheese blend or put on chips for nachos or use as enchilada meat. Great for leftovers, too.

  2. June 29, 2011 1:28 am

    Now, both of you are just making me hungry. The recipes sound great.

Leave a Reply

