Skip to content

Lightning. Rawr!

July 26, 2011

I took my first lightning shots the other night. I waited a little too late, and the storm was moving out by the time I got the tripod out and decided to actually make a stab at them. In other words, they aren’t as good as I would like, but I thought they were good enough to post the best. This way the next time you’ll be really impressed at my improvement! It was a lot of fun figuring out the exposure for the shots. I was surprised at how high I needed the ISO. I did them with a shutter speed of 30 seconds – in other words, rilly, rilly long exposures. Next time I’ll use my remote and I’ll go straight to the beach, instead of staying on our property.

Update: For those looking for how the shot was taken, you can go to my Flickr. Once there, click on the link in the top right hand corner that says Canon EOS Rebel T1i. Or you can just click that link there, and it will take you to the Exif data. It gives all the information you could want, including aperture, shutter speed, ISO, focal length and even what program I used to crop and boost the photo with. Flickr is awesome and I often peruse it just looking different at Exif data.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 5:07 pm

    I think those are pretty good pictures. I would like to take some lightning pictures but I have to figure out how to set my camera for the long exposure first. And it needs to storm. It’s looking like it will never rain again here.

    • July 28, 2011 8:55 am

      I know, Leslie, about the rain. Strange summer in Texas this year, it seems. Too hot too early. Summer in Florida means storms like this, and I’m really loving them. After living on the east coast where the storms fizzle more than fire, I’m enjoying a good storm once a week or better.

  2. July 27, 2011 10:58 pm

    Oh, coool! After the disclaimers in the post, I was very impressed when I scrolled to the shots!

    • July 28, 2011 8:53 am

      They are cropped heavily. I think that’s my problem with them. The storm was moving out, so the lightning was low in the frame, and it irritated me that I couldn’t get a good composition.

Trackbacks

  1. Florida Summer « The Texpat Starling

Leave a Reply

