Skip to content

Florida Summer

August 16, 2011

We are deep in the middle of Florida’s summer, which is delightfully not beach friendly in a lot of ways. I’ve come to see that beach season is really Spring and Fall. Summer is for storms. I love storms. Florida does not disappoint in this way. The thunder is loud, so loud it shakes the buildings. The lightning is beautiful and happens quite frequently. It rains – pours down sheets of water for short periods of time and then just as quickly as it came, the storm is gone. I love it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 5:21 pm

    My soul is craving sheets of rain. Craving it, I tell you.

    • August 17, 2011 8:57 am

      I know the drought is serious. I’m concerned about my grandparents. Our well may dry up, and the spring fed pond already has dried up. In the 27+ years that I’ve known the pond it has never dried up. No matter how bad the drought was. My dad was telling me some more stuff last night. The updrafts from the heat are intense and slightly dangerous to skydive and fly in. It’s scary.

Leave a Reply

