Skip to content

Our New Headboard

October 12, 2011

A long time ago in a land far away (Canada), I went to school to learn how to be an interior designer. For eight glorious months after graduating, I used that knowledge in an architecture firm and then I got kicked out that “nice” country and haven’t worked as an interior designer since. In New York, I became a lighting designer, which is actually in the same field more or less. However, now I’m a project manager at an LED factory. The correlation between my degree and my work is tenuous at best. I’m not complaining. I think I’m more suited to my current job than design. I’m also working in a factory with space to bring projects to work on. In other words, I’m now in a situation where I am not using the expensive degree I got in that far away land, but I am in a position to make things – which I love to do.

In addition to this, we are currently cash poor and we left all of our furniture behind in New York when we moved. Therefore, I’m combining these facts to spur me into making things. It keeps my hands and mind busy, makes our little apartment nicer, and takes our meager funds farther.

The new headboard:

It was honestly very easy to do, and I’m really happy with it. The trickiest part was the upholstery nails, because I bought cheap ones at Home Depot, and they wouldn’t penetrate the plywood. A staple gun and some super glue fixed that. With the tools I bought on the last project, and some free wood I picked up from the renovations going on in our apartment complex, it was a steal. We’ve just invited my sister-in-law, Aisha, to live with us for a while, and so when we move into a two bedroom, I’ll probably put this in her bedroom and make us another one. I hadn’t planned on making another upholstered one, but I’m really loving the soft place to put my head when I’m reading. I may just stick to the upholstered version for the next one as well.

Updated with new photo in new apartment. Oooooh, awww. So pretty:

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 11:43 am

    Love it.

  2. Christine permalink
    October 12, 2011 5:14 pm

    It’s beautiful!!

  3. October 12, 2011 5:44 pm

    Looks great!

  4. Kelly permalink
    January 23, 2012 8:55 pm

    I LOVE it! And if I wear my outfits from your wedding, I would match it. Some day I’ll come pose next to it in them. lol. 🙂 xo

  5. March 5, 2012 8:25 pm

    Beautiful! Love that fabric. This makes me wish I had a spot for one of these.

Trackbacks

  1. The Coffee Table That Inexperience Built « The Texpat Starling

Leave a Reply

