Skip to content

The Book You Read Over & Over & Over….

February 10, 2012

Did you see what Baba got me for Christmas?

No, not that, silly!

This:

I was concerned every time I left it anywhere that something would spill on it. I looked around Etsy and, while I was sorely tempted to spend my hard-earned cash on this one, I decided to save the money and make my own cover. I already had the box cutter and the velcro tape. The book cost me a dollar at the Salvation Army store. Yes, $1 – that’s my total investment in this cover. Well, that and one hour of time that I passed while watching House Hunters International. I love the blue color of the hard cover, although it pained me a bit to cut into the pages at first. It feels great in my hands, though. I kept the pages in case I find use for them later. Anyone got any ideas?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah the Closet Monster permalink
    February 10, 2012 12:22 pm

    No ideas of my own for recycling those pages (one friend would recommend using them as gift wrap), but I love this use of an old book! Still keeping the reading going, just with a different set of pages. :p

    • February 10, 2012 2:20 pm

      Gift wrap is a great idea. Maybe I could take a shoe box and turn it into something more visually appealing for storage. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

  2. February 10, 2012 10:46 pm

    Collage! Remember the art I made for my office? I made my own quotes for those, but I plan to use book pages in future editions. You could totally do something like that.

  3. February 22, 2012 10:28 am

    Make jewelry! You can do those lovely paper beads with some modgepodge & patience or some acrylic jewelry. We did a craft w/ the teens @ the library with paper lacquer & old cardboard rolls. Book pages would have been perfect!

    • February 22, 2012 1:54 pm

      Another great idea. This is why I ask! My aunt makes jewelry, so I should have thought of that. Her jewelry blog is one of my links on the right hand side – No Stone Unstrung.

      I hope your poor feather baby gets better. I think you have a great writing style for story-telling, by the way.

      • February 22, 2012 2:11 pm

        Ooo! I will check out your aunt’s blog I love to make jewelry in my (non-existent) spare time.

        Thank you for the compliment. I try. Someday I will actually finish a novel and send it off for now I do free-lance stuff. Mostly for our local paper and the blog is my hobby (personal vent hole into the abyss).

        Thank you for the well wishes for Baby, we love her so much. We’re pretty desperate to get her back to normal.

Leave a comment