Skip to content

Pinterest, The Allure of

March 20, 2012

I’m an pop-culture internet junkie. I know this. I’ve been blogging for six years now which is quite a while in the blogging world. I was into MySpace back when everyone else was, I left it when everyone else did. I’m on Facebook every day, even if I don’t post. I’m a frequent commenter on a few news sites, I like to peruse Etsy, I shop on Amazon more often than not.

So when Pinterest popped up on the radar it intrigued me. Intrigue has turned into obsession, though. I have no idea if I’m right, but I imagine that Pinterest was created by designers. People who, like me, spent years building mood boards by hands, presenting these mood boards, and dissecting their designs to potential clients. We e-mail, we blog, we update websites. Why continue to create physical mood boards?

I read a comment from a person who uses Tumblr who didn’t understand why Pinterest was so much better than Tumblr. To be honest, I never had a Tumblr – I have a blog, so I don’t see the need. But to me, the two things are so different. Pinterest is a place for me to design and create my own personal mood boards online. Organization is key. Pinners often expect explanation of the design elements.

However, the marketing and potential commercial value that Pinterest has is practically limitless. I’ve already got a board that I’m putting ideas for a house that family is building. I hope to help do some design work. I live far, far away however, and it’s so easy to just say “Look at the board!” with a hyperlink attached. I can even allow others to pin to this board.

To wit: Haters to the left. Pinterest has me more excited than I’ve been about anything new I’ve discovered on the web in a LONG time. Feel free to leave a comment with your Pinterest address. I love to follow new people with great boards. Now for some of my favorite pins:

I loved the lighting here.

And here the alcove bed is really dreamy.

How cool are these fruit and vegetable drawers?

Why, yes, I would like to sleep here. Just maybe always fully clothed – then again, its seclusion is part of the beauty.

I love the smaller mirrors and the subway tiles.

There’s a cabin in the photo below. Can you spot it? Will you take me there? Some of my novel is now set here, so you could call this ‘writing inspiration’.

How lovely is the shot below? What a perfect example of the great use of sunrise or sunset lighting.

I made this drink over the weekend with the girls. It. Was. Delish.

This staircase is fantastic. I’ve always had a thing for cool staircases. I’ve got a whole board dedicated to them and bridges.

Some pins just make me laugh – no other reason to pin them. This was one of those.

Another complaint that I heard about Pinterest was that it was for the ladeez (contempt was implied here) to post pictures of stuff they’ll never do or never have. Maybe that’s true to some extent. Then again I have a board called DIM (Did It Myself). But even if that’s true for the most part, isn’t part of the beauty of the world wide web that we can dream a little with impunity?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2012 5:13 pm

    I really enjoy Pinterest. It’s kind of a cross between a design board and a dream board. We’re already following each other but here’s my link:

  2. March 21, 2012 11:34 am

    I have stayed away from Pinterest for all the reasons you love it. See, I KNOW I would very quickly develop an obsession, and I’ve already got enough on my plate (and enough distractions!). I imagine I will cave at some point; I’ll let you know when that happens.

  3. marthalite permalink
    September 29, 2012 10:19 pm

    I am also highly addicted to pinterest, although my attempts rarely turn out even half as good as the original. here’s my page (obsession?): http://pinterest.com/kristenanne28/

  4. February 11, 2013 4:00 am

    I do not even know how I stopped up here, however I assumed this post used to be good.
    I don’t understand who you are but definitely you’re going to a
    well-known blogger for those who are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

