Skip to content

Works in Progress

April 10, 2012

My little sister, Baby*, is coming this weekend to stay with us for a week and a half and I have so much to do before she gets here. I probably won’t get to all of it, but I need to at least try. For one, the second bedroom is not even a bedroom at this point. It’s a room with a desk and a bunch of half-finished projects.

*Yep, that’s her real nickname and yep, we’ve all seen Dirty Dancing, and nope she is not filling in on the dance floor after a botched back-alley abortion. Not while she’s under my roof, anyway. 😉

I bought some palm trees for the living room and they really transformed the place. I had been needing to re-pot them and I finally got around to it over the long weekend. I also finally finished putting up the sheers on the balcony (not shown) and mopping up the tiles to a clean shine, but the rest of the balcony is a work in progress. I really want a bistro set, because I would love to have breakfast out there on the weekends. Also, the camping chair that is our only seating now is not cutting it for me. In fact, it’s downright embarrassing for me.

And then there are the projects in the second bedroom. Lordy. A bookshelf I intend to complete and two lamps that are not turning out the way I envisioned, and a birdcage chandelier I haven’t even really started, but don’t know what to do with for now. They are all sitting in this sad corner of the room. Waiting. Sadly.

Sigh. Then there’s the small issue of not having a bed in our guest bedroom. Something which will have to get fixed immediately. In fact, I suspect Baby and I will be putting it all together while she’s here.

Anyway, I photoshopped the would-be bookshelves in an effort to inspire myself. (It’s a sloppy ‘shop – I know.) I’m glad I did too, because I had originally planned to put stripes on the back and that didn’t work at all. I love the elegance of the stencil with the rustic white washing and the real rustic feel of the construction. It’s going to be more work than it looks like because there are unwanted nails in the back and I’m still not sure how I’m going to get rid of them. But I’ll think of something.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 10, 2012 11:18 pm

    Have fun with your visit! Love the palm trees!

Leave a Reply

