Skip to content

Indian Wedding (alternate working title: Count the Clichés)

May 30, 2012

My husband’s good friend got married a few weeks ago in Jersey and we flew up there for the wedding. We had a great time, and it was so nice to see some friends I hadn’t seen for a while. However, because it was an Indian wedding, I didn’t get to do much else and there are many friends I didn’t even tell that I was going to be there, because I didn’t see the point. In fact, besides those at the wedding, I saw only one friend, and she was the one I was staying with. I love you, Yogita!

Before the wedding, I participated in a lively conversation with perfect strangers about cameras and lens on a friends Facebook page. Two of them raved again about a lens I had been eyeing for awhile. Short story: I broke down and got the new lens – the 50mm 1.4f…

Oh, I am in love.
Truly.
Madly.
Deeply in love.  I knew I would fall instantly once I had it. It took forever to get me to buy it. I must have priced it out for 12-14 months.

Anyway, back to my story. When packing for the trip I had a decision to make. Take a couple of lens, including the new one, so that I could both experiment take some good pictures with a lens I was familiar with or wing it with just the one to force myself to understand it. You know how this story ends, don’t you?

Art by Lucas Sharp

Or in this case, Small F Stop or Get Out. So I took the one lens.

I like to live life dangerously. Walk on the edge. Balls to the wall. Push the envelope. Tread dangerous waters while wet behind the ears. All I need is a wing and a prayer.

The resulting photos were not great. Most of them weren’t even good. Shooting prime is hard, y’all. Totally different, and the 50mm is much closer to the subject than I’m used to. (Yeah, I know – it’s a crop frame. Whatyagonnado? I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth.) But… But… I had FUN. Hella fun. Like, giddy-as-a-schoolgirl fun. When I went to edit the ones I wanted to keep, the colors were so bright and (what was in the depth of field) so clear that I didn’t need to do much to them. Ah, so this is what it feels like to have a great lens. I mean the kit lens is good. I still love it. But this is just a whole different ballgame.

I know you’re waiting with bated breath (not really), so here are a few photos:

Painting the town red.

Song and dance at the mendhi.

Happy as a clam with his bride.

Love is a many splendored thing.

Pretty as a picture.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carrie S. permalink
    May 31, 2012 4:34 pm

    The last one is an awesome one of the couple. I love good candid shots.

Leave a Reply

