Skip to content

Sharing Blog Love

June 28, 2012

I got a great surprise a week ago.  Angela (great name!), at A Grand Revival, nominated my blog along with 15 others for an award of sorts – the One Lovely Blog Award. It’s more a way of sharing blog love than winning some sort of award, I know, but still I was delighted to get listed.  It really brightened my day, so I’m here to pay it forward with some nominations of my own.

Here are the rules of acceptance:

  • Thank the person/people who nominated you and link back to them in your post.
  • Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself.
  • Nominate fifteen or so bloggers you admire.
  • Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know and link back to them.

Thanks, Angela!

Seven Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me:

1. I once was fluent in French. Emphasis on the “used to be”.  Je ne me souviens  pas. (Quebec pun) Bad subtitles in a French movie drive me crazy though.

Amazon by Eric Holbrook

2. When I was a young girl I was focused on living in the Amazon. I spent so much time reading about the jungle and fantasizing about it. I still haven’t gone, but I will visit.

3. I have a degree in interior design, but I only worked as an interior designer for eight months.

4. I worked illegally those eight months, but the company didn’t know and it wasn’t my fault. I qualified for a very specific visa, but was denied eight months later for false reasons. This white American knows what it feels like to be treated like an illegal alien and let me tell you – it’s no way to live. All humans deserve to be treated with respect. You don’t know their story.

5. The first thing I notice in any environment is lighting. Within two minutes I can tell you the ambient color temperature, the source of the light, and if they used a lighting designer or not. In New York, I can even tell which lighting designer in some cases, just based on style.

6. I blogged my three months in Asia in 2008* in a blog still online called The Unposh Phase. (*Facebook kindly corrected me.)

7. I pretend that there are a special branch of Fae who live in white puffy clouds. They build castles and walk on the clouds just like mountains. Their entire lives happen in hours, but feel like years to them and they war with each other, which is why the clouds don’t last.

“Lovely” blogs I nominate:

1. Something Deep and Witty – my good friend Amy. We discovered dc Talk together as teenage girls in the 90’s – that makes us soul mates.

2. No Stone Unstrung – my aunt and all around awesome woman. She makes jewelry and blogs about it here.

3. Skyla Dawn Cameron – paranormal author extraordinaire. Does that mean she writes paranormal stuff or that she herself is a paranormal extraordinaire? I’ll let you figure it out for yourself. She’s got a new book coming out soon and I’m excited.

4. Ariela’s Studio – Great DIY home blog

5. Travel Destination Bucketlist – This woman rides bikes… across countries. Do I need to go on? I thought not.

6. Hammer Like a Girl – A group of women who blog about their building adventures. I do love a good power tool blog for the laydeez.

7. Michelle Chiang – An education in interior design and she works as an interior designer. Revolutionary!

8. Pink Toes & Power Tools – Another great DIY blog. I really like her DIY camera bag. I need to make one of my own.

9. Twenty-Four – She has great photo’s on her blog, and her Pinterest pins are some of my favorites.

10. Sassafras Junction – She’s a funny lady that Adam Corolla doesn’t know about. She also reviews books.

11. Hay Ladies! – Their tag line is “sex, gender and feminism in the lone star state”. Conservatives should just skip this one.

12. A Detailed House – This cool chic went from no blog to blogging master in about five minutes and I’m impressed. She has some great details of the renovations her and her husband are doing to their house.

13. Maison Armoire – I love the photos on her site.

14. Ellie Freckles – a photography blog. She has some great photos on there.

15. Is not just one. I tried to pick mostly small blogs with only a few followers, like myself, but I’ve gotten a lot of consistent likes from people who have thousands of followers so this one is for you. PhotoBotos, Into Mind, A Lot on Your Plate, Silly Monkey Photography, and Bucket List Publications just to name a few. These are great blogs that deserve all the followers they have. I love their posts.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2012 10:05 am

    Aww, thanks! I think #7 was the only thing about which I was truly unaware, and it is completely awesome. I don’t think I’ll look at puffy clouds the same way again.

    (Good grief. Did you go to Asia 5 years ago? Really? How old *are* we?)

    • June 29, 2012 3:28 pm

      Is Halle the same age we were when we met? I think so. Or maybe not quite yet, but it’s close. That’s how old we are!

      • July 2, 2012 1:37 pm

        No, Halle is *older* than we were when we met. Even worse.

  2. June 29, 2012 10:19 am

    Thank you! I am so honored that you like my blog. Now I have some homework to do.
    I already knew #3 and #5 about you, and now I know 5 more things!

  3. June 29, 2012 8:31 pm

    Thanks! I am honoured. Nice to get to know a little more about you. Can’t believe you were an “alien”! Kudos!

  4. July 5, 2012 8:37 pm

    Thanks, Angela! Now I have to get a post going. I always thought it would be cool to go underhill and visit the fae, except for the part about the time difference.

Trackbacks

  1. One Lovely Blog Award | MICHELLE CHIANG

Leave a Reply

