Skip to content

Taste Tripping Party with Miracle Fruit

July 11, 2012

I’ve had some pretty tame birthday’s the last few years, and I usually like it like that. This year however I decided to throw a small house party and make it interesting by finally trying out the Miracle Fruit tablets I’d read about a few times. If you’ve never heard of this fruit, it’s a berry from Africa that has one odd side effect – it changes all your sour taste buds to sweet (or deadens the sour ones completely – same thing, in the end). It doesn’t really have any other effect and it only lasts for about an hour. Apparently, your saliva does its job and breaks down  rather quickly whatever is changing your taste buds. 

I was mostly curious to see if it would work, and I’m happy to report that all nine of us at the party were affected, to varying degrees. All but one of us found the lemons and limes tart-less. I bought the tablets off Amazon. It’s a product called Miracle Frooties. They worked well so I recommend them, but I can’t compare them to any other brand. The stars of the evening were definitely the limes. I usually prefer lemons, but while “tripping” I definitely preferred the limes because the lemons were almost too sweet.

The goat cheese, brie, and sour cream were other favorites. The goat cheese was perfectly sweet. We paired it with some fig preserves, which tasted like honey, and the combination was divine. The sour cream took on a sweet greek yogurt taste. I had some sour candy there, which lost all of its tart flavor. The watermelon and carrots tasted the same, but the blackberries were out.of.this.world good. In reality they were pretty bleh blackberries, believe it or not. The oranges were horribly sweet to me, but Baba loved them. Finally, Tabasco was weird, and if you throw one of those parties you must try it just for the experience. It was sweet on the tongue and wasn’t hot, until it hit the back of the throat.

Overall, it was a great party. Everyone had fun. I did have a mild stomach ache later that evening, but some Tums cleared that up and it was definitely worth the experience. I have some pills left over, so I’m going to use them sweeten up some fruit  on occasion and I’m going to send some pills to my diabetic grandmother. She’s always looking for ways to “cheat” on the sweets.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    July 11, 2012 1:20 pm

    Your table looks like it belongs in Southern Living!
    Grandma will love those!

  2. July 11, 2012 2:40 pm

    How fun and very interesting! Have to try that sometime!

    • July 11, 2012 2:54 pm

      Definitely. Although very few of my friend’s have children, it’s a good gimmick for a kid-friendly party.

  3. July 11, 2012 9:08 pm

    I may have to try this since I do not like sour-tasting food such as pickles. Does it change the smell? I can’t stand the vinegar smell.

  4. July 26, 2012 8:43 am

    That’s a great idea, with such hot weather here and out party coming up on saturday my idea other than the chicken wings from home, baked mozzarella sticks but an array of fresh Sicilian cheeses and fruit as samplers will keep us cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

