Skip to content

Life Update

August 8, 2012

Remember this? Well, one sort of took care of itself and I’m finally ready to discuss one of the other ones. Full disclosure: I’m going to be talking about weight and about trying to lose it. If this isn’t your cup of tea I understand, so fair warning.

Back story: I was taking a prescription drug for my health that kept my metabolism artificially high and drastically reduced my appetite. I lost a lot of weight without even really trying.  No, I won’t tell you what it was and, no, you don’t want to take this drug. Then I went off of the drug, because I no longer needed it. I figured I would gain some but not all of the weight back. I was wrong. Within 10 months I went up almost four dress sizes.  The biggest problem was that my appetite increased and I just didn’t say no to myself. I more than gained back what I had lost and I didn’t fit into any of my clothes. I knew I needed to do something about it, but the weight gain continued unabated.

I tried to go to the small gym in my complex by myself. I tried to discipline myself to eat less. I tried a bunch of stuff, but I was still gaining weight, and nothing made a difference. I knew I needed to do something serious for myself. I felt very, very crappy. I was getting afternoon headaches that wouldn’t go away. My knees hurt more than usual. I started to get bad lady issues – something that’s never happened to me. My blood sugar levels were erratic and I was constantly crashing. But mostly it was the clothes; I was very, very unhappy with myself. Vanity is a powerful motivator.

I knew I had the money for something I’ve wanted to do for about six years, so finally one day, in a fit of exasperation I wrote that blog post above, booked a backpacking trip to Yosemite for later in the year (more on that later) and then drove to the local gym where I signed a one year contract for personal training. I’ve worked with a personal trainer a few times before, but never for extended periods of time. I could never afford it. Personal training isn’t cheap. But it also isn’t unattainable for everyone and I was ready to make the sacrifice.

I meet with the trainer once a week, and recently upgraded to six times a month. It’s been three months now, and the first two I noticed almost NO difference. This was very disheartening because I was working out 5 times a week – both strength training and weight lifting.  My body fat percentage readings went down quite a bit, though, so I didn’t understand why I didn’t see it. This month however, I’m finally starting to notice a difference. It’s so little, but it’s enough to finally get me a little more excited about the whole thing. Funnily enough my body fat percentage went up this month, so I’m completely confused as to what my goals should be, but I’m working it out.

I’ve always been into strength training. I’m terrible about follow-through though, so the 1 year commitment is my way of ensuring that this becomes my lifestyle and not a passing fad. Just knowing that my trainer will look through my book and examine what I’ve done is enough to get me in gear. It really has been a great option for me.

I don’t plan on discussing this much. I waited three months to even mention on my blog that I’ve been training as well as working out five times a week. But I am excited about the changes, so I will periodically mention this.

Now about Yosemite – my sister and I are going away for Labor Day weekend. We’ll be three days in solid back country (John Muir Trail, for those who know about these kind of things) and to say that I’m excited about this trip is a HUGE, GIGANTIC understatement. It’s been a while since I undertook a serious hike and/or camping. Too long. I started packing three weeks ago to the complete confusion of Baba. He politely informed me that we were in the middle of July, not August, and then checked me for a fever. (Dude – he knew I was crazy when he married me!)

Anyway, I’m no Ansel Adams, but I have rented a very nice wide-angle lens for the trip, so wish me luck and hope that I get some great shots of the park while I’m there. I’m bringing almost as much camera equipment as camping equipment.

Less than one month to go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2012 4:18 pm

    Good for you! You totally deserve the trip to Yosemite!

Leave a Reply

