Skip to content

Venice of North America

September 3, 2012

Ft. Lauderdale is sometimes called “The Venice of America”. It doesn’t hold the same romance, but I understand why. The canals are everywhere. Especially the closer you are to the ocean. I rented a lens for Yosemite, but I took it out last night for a spin. It’s great. I’ll have to buy it when I can afford a lens next. It’s the Canon 10-22mm 3.5f – a wide angle that gets everything in. Here’s an HDR of twilight:

The church in the background is a rather famous church, Coral Ridge Presbyterian. My neighbor called it the most beautiful church of hate he knows, which is sad, but I understand why he thinks that. Here’s a close-up:

This one’s not an HDR, because the traffic headlights confused the program, but I think it’s a great shot. The thing that surprised me the most was that so many stars showed up. Click to enlarge so you can see them better. This bodes very well for my Yosemite trip. I rented the lens in part to try some beginner astrophotography while I’m in the high country of Yosemite.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2012 3:04 pm

    I was just in Hollywood and did not dig it…. Husband did not like it at all. I am hoping to give Ft. Lauderdale a try but I don’t think I can convince husband… beautiful photos.

    • September 6, 2012 10:12 am

      Thanks. Yeah, I don’t know Hollywood that well, because we just moved down here and I know very few areas. I like where we live, but it’s right on the Intracoastal so that probably helps.

Leave a Reply

