Skip to content

The Humble Tomato

October 8, 2012

This weekend I did some canning. I chose to make a Basil Garlic Marinara, which turned out great. I don’t can very often, but I love doing it. Since I don’t have a garden it isn’t really cheaper for me, but I enjoy knowing that I’m eating something that has no preservatives in it. I used this recipe, which I found on Pinterest. To be honest, I didn’t blanch the tomatoes, which may affect the acid levels. I’m not sure. I plan on eating all eight pints quite quickly though, so I’m not that worried about it.

The image is something I’m just as proud of. A simple still life maybe, but I got out my fancy new flash (thanks, Baba!) and shot it in RAW. I recently took a class on light metering, and while I don’t yet have a light meter, it was a great class. I learned so much, and can’t wait to take another on the subject.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

