Skip to content

Wynwood

December 11, 2012

Small Update: The gun shop was a real hit and everybody is talking about it. Congrats to Asif and Primary Flight.

My husband and I went down to Wynwood on Saturday to check out Art Basel. We didn’t go into the tents, but wandered around Wynwood looking at the new murals, and seeing some of what the galleries had on display. My friends, Books and Senorita, had an artist with a “gun shop” display that was pretty amazing. The artist makes cardboard replicas of guns, down to the last detail. Theoretically they could be fired I’m told, but obviously they lack the power to do so effectively. Pretty amazing stuff actually.

Anyway, I took my camera and took street shots while we were down there. Wynwood was originally nothing more than a run down neighborhood until the artists moved in and transformed it. It now has a very lively street art scene and I’m proud to say that my friends were integral to that transformation. It’s famous for the wall murals.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

