Skip to content

Where Am I? How Did I Get Here? I Really Need to Be Doing Something Else.

January 17, 2013

Have you ever skated along, totally oblivious to how disorganized and slightly chaotic your life was getting and then suddenly… BAM! You’re completely drowning in unopened mail, you have no idea where you put last year’s tax paperwork which you need right now, you have completely given up on any home improvements, and you haven’t been able to edit photos for shoots you did two months ago? Yeah, you have right? I’m not the only one… RIGHT?!

Holy crap. No seriously. It’s bad. Real bad. And I need to do something about it. Before I wasn’t that bothered because I was bored – let’s not get into it. Let’s just say that while I fulfilled my hours I was not what you might call busy. So it was OK. Now things are a little different.

I started school again. It’s cool and I’m enjoying it, but it’s changed the game up quite a bit for my schedule. Three weeknights are booked. That leaves two weeknights to get done what I use to have five to do and we haven’t even thought about homework. How do people do this with kids? How?

Hats off, moms and dads. Hats off.

So yeah… 2013 is going to be focused not just on organization of house stuff but life stuff. Everything needs an overhaul, really. Sometimes it’s good to just say ‘Stop, let’s do this right,’ and now is that time. I’m hoping to blog a bit about what I’m doing to get more organized. My plans include paperwork organization, time-planning, and better budget-planning. I intend to do some mood boards for the rooms in the house because I need a bit more direction with how I want things to look. I also intend to put together a fitness plan. I’m doing OK with that, but there’s room for improvement. I’m also sort of launching my own lighting design firm. It’s not official yet, but I’ve possibly picked up two jobs without even trying, and I have high hopes for that.

I’m looking forward to 2013. It seems like it’s going to be fun. Busy, but fun.

Oh and here’s one of the only photos I’ve semi-attempted to edit from my trip: Mumbai from a rooftop balcony. The field and colonial style building to the lower left is Baba’s high school. The main impression I was trying to convey is just how big Mumbai is.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2013 10:10 am

    Ah, yes, I remember this feeling.

    See, what we do is we make the kids do all the stuff we used to do. And they love us for it. No, really, they LOVE it.

    And, um, starting your own business? Dude, that’s awesome! I’m excited about your year, too!

    (For what it’s worth, I really like YNAB for budgeting.)

    • January 22, 2013 10:13 am

      Yeah, we’ll see what really happens with the business. I’m not pushing it because I have a lot of irons in the fire right now and the last thing I want to do is burn bridges.

      Also, I was that kid that loved it.

Leave a Reply

