Skip to content

The Guest Bedroom Mood Board

January 23, 2013

One of the area’s of the house that is a little less developed than others is the guest bedroom. It won’t take much to get it looking the way that I want, but I’ve been having a hard time visualizing where I wanted to take it. The main reason is because I’ve been meaning to make a new headboard for the master bedroom for some time. I planned to move the old one into the guest bedroom, but the problem was that I didn’t want to use the same color scheme in both rooms.

I decided yellow and red were two underutilized colors that I love. But I still needed the scheme to go with the aqua headboard. When I found the coral patterned pillow in the mood board above I knew I’d hit the jackpot. The red was muted and pinkish, more in line with the same tones as the rest of the house. Most of this is from Overstock. The other pillow is a bit overpriced, so I’ll have to find an alternate. The sisal rug really adds texture, which I needed to bring the prints together. There are a lot of prints. I think they all work, but I may stick to a solid color for the other decorative pillow. The yellow chair no longer appears to be on Overstock, but here is its turquoise cousin.

The art piece above is something I’m planning on handcrafting. I draw mehndi (or henna) designs all the time. It’s something I enjoy doing. I had planned on making it black and white, but when I added the color to the piece, which I found on a Google image search, I just fell in love. Obviously, mine will look different, but the concept will remain. If you like the concept, the above piece is by an Etsy artist and here is her store.

The curtains I also found on a Google search. Trapped in North Jersey cleverly took a duvet cover and made curtains when, like me, she couldn’t find yellow stripe curtains with a bold stripe. I think I’ll do the same or paint the white ones I have now. Give her blog a look-see. I really enjoyed perusing it myself.

Overall, I think the colors work and there is plenty of rich texture and patterns that set it apart from the rest of the house. That said, it will also fit nicely with the beach cottage vibe I’ve been trying to keep. I’m planning on printing this out and keeping it in my purse. When I’m out shopping if I see something I like I’ll take it out and ask myself if it 1) goes with the design intent shown here and 2) if it’s necessary to the design intent. I don’t want to overspend on anything right now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 28, 2013 7:04 am

    What a fun mood board. I love guest rooms because they stay looking good while other rooms get cluttered. I sometimes use ours for the night just like it’s a cozy inn. Yours will be terrific. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

Leave a Reply

