Skip to content

Queen Anne Nightstand

March 21, 2013

I’ve lost Photoshop. I had no idea how crippling it would be for me. I haven’t posted because at the very least I wanted to put my watermark on the images. I can’t afford it yet, but I’m saving for the latest version. I know there are other photo editors I can get, but I’ve been working with Photoshop in one way or another for about a decade. I can’t imagine using anything else at this point. I’m even reluctant to use Lightroom, although I’ll get over that as soon as I can afford it.

In the meantime, I decided to go ahead and post. This nightstand took me forever, not because it was difficult but because I don’t have a space for it right now. When I picked it up I did need it, but soon after our neighbors gave us their old nightstands and suddenly I had an extra. I think it turned out well, so I’m saving it for a third bedroom, if we ever have one.

Here’s the before:

Before

Can you see the dirty corners and the chipped paint. The top looked more horrible than the photo shows. Sanding down that nasty yellow lacquer took forever, but it was well worth it.

Here’s the after:

After

I got rid of the weird lips on the top, so it’s a flat surface. I also filled in a lot of the detail. Before it all added up to too much and I think the shape of the legs and beveled edges are very nice without the rest. It’s a crisp clean white now. Since I already had most of the supplies, it cost little more than the hardware and the basket. I’m less than $30 out for the piece, so I think I got a bargain.

My next project will most likely be pretty big. I’m designing a bed for the master bedroom, so that I can move the current headboard into the guest bedroom. I thought I would use a plan from Ana White, but it’s turned into a brand new design. I’ve laid the whole thing out in AutoCAD just to make sure I’m getting the dimensions right. I wish I knew Google SketchUp better. Do any of you know SketchUp? Was it easy to learn?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 24, 2013 2:19 am

    I love the nightstand! Much, much better than the “before” version.

    I use photoshop elements. If you go to Adobe you can download a thirty day trial version for free. It does so much I’ve never missed having Photoshop. The price is much better.

Leave a Reply

