Skip to content

Colorado

September 8, 2013

This might be the longest I’ve gone without blogging since I started 8-9 years ago. Life has been busy and stressful, so my hobbies have taken a backseat. I make no apologies, but I’m happy to have some images to share at last.

My brother, Will, and I went on a hike through Colorado. We did Aspen to Crested Butte and back, in three days and three nights. Despite the long time frame, it was actually very challenging for both of us. I’ve come to the conclusion that because of the infrequency with which I am able to hike, I’ll never be a strong or fast hiker. I’m OK with that, because I still always have fun.

I rented a lens. I’ll be purchasing this lens ASAP because I fell in love. It’s the 17-55mm for use with crop bodies. It’s so tack sharp that it’s nearly impossible to take a bad shot, even in low lights. With a very good polarizing filter on it, the photos needed almost no editing. I took quite a few HDR’s, so those are obviously edited, but even still… Aside from combining exposures, I needed to do very little to them.

It was cloudy every night we were out, which was unfortunate. I had intended to take some night shots of the Milky Way and it’s my only real disappointment in the trip that I wasn’t able to.

Without further ado, some favorites:

Crater Lake

Looking Down on Crater Lake

View from the Top of Mt. Evans

Clinton Gulch

Will at the Top of the World

Cabin with a View

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2013 11:18 am

    These are fabulous. They make me miss Colorado.

  2. September 12, 2013 4:42 pm

    I can see why these photos were your favorites, they’re beautiful. Sure is a grand area.

Leave a Reply

