Skip to content

Master Bedroom Makeover

December 8, 2013

I entered a contest at Curbed during their Rental Week to win $2500 in a free makeover. I wasn’t even a finalist, but I had so much fun doing it that it doesn’t matter at all. I thought I’d share with you what I put together. In fact, I love it so much that I’m scrapping my old Master bedroom Mood Board and using this for inspiration.

Before:

After:

And here’s a breakdown of the various items.

 photo MoodBoard_zps78e257de.jpg The bed I’m going to build myself. (Confession: I’m actually almost done.) The curtains came from Pottery Barn, but I found a very close substitution at Target for a lot less money. The fan is from Acero, and I love it. It’s not cheap, but I couldn’t find anything I liked that was less. The table lamps came from Restoration Hardware – another expensive store, but I know you can find look-a-likes all over the place. I just love the little details on this. Lighting is obviously very important to me, so it’s something I might splurge on. The rug, pillows, and images above the night stands came from Overstock. Overstock is such a great place to shop for home goods, but I’ll probably use my own images in reality. Finally, the built-ins are actually an Ikea hack that consists of two Pax wardrobes. Inside I’d place drawers as well as shelves and built the bench for extra storage. Trim it out with moulding from Home Depot and it would look completely built-in. I could easily remove them when we decide to move. I absolutely love it and I’m definitely going to work hard to recreate it in real life.

Finally, here’s a great pinnable image for those who like that kind of thing:

No comments yet

Leave a comment